Home / Baringo County

Baringo County

Baringo County government is one of Kenya’s 47 Counties and is located in the Rift Valley region of Kenya. It has its headquarters in Kabarnet town which is the largest town in the county. It borders with Samburu, Laikipia, Turkana, Nakuru, Elgeyo Marakwet, Kericho, Uasin Gishu and West Pokot Counties.


The name Baringo originates from a Njemp word, ‘Mparingo’ which means ‘lake’. This was in reference to Lake Baringo by the Njemp community who lived in the area close to the lake

Population and Administration

Baringo County has a population of around 662,760 people according to Kenya’s 2019 Housing and Population Census results. The county is divided into six sub-counties, namely: Tiaty, Baringo North, Baringo Central, Baringo South, Mogotio and Eldama Ravine.

The Baringo county governor is H.E. Governor Stanley Kiptis who is the County’s Second Governor and Has the Hon. Gideon Moi as its Senator.

Economic Practices.

Agriculture and pastoralism are the main economic activities practiced in the county. The main cash crops grown in the county include coffee and cotton. Bee Keeping and Aloe Vera growing is also coming up as one of the agricultural activities carried out in the county.,


The majority of the County’s population are Christians with few of the locals still practicing their African traditional religion.

Key Achievements.

Baringo County is home to Kenya’s Second and the longest serving President, H.E. Daniel Toroitich Arap Moi.