Home / Elgeyo-Marakwet County

Elgeyo-Marakwet County

Elgeyo Marakwet is a county located in the former Rift-Valley region of Kenya. It has its capital in Iten. The county borders with Trans-Nzoia, Uasin Gishu, Baringo and West Pokot Counties.

Population and Administration

Elgeyo Marakwet has a population of 454,480 people according to Kenya’s 2019 Housing and population census results. The County is divided into four sub-counties: Keiyo North, Keiyo South, Marakwet East and Marakwet West.

The County Government of Elgeyo Marakwet is led by H.E. Governor Alex Togos who is the county’s first and current governor.

Economic Practices.

Agriculture is the main economic activity in the county. Mixed farming, mainly, livestock and subsistence farming are the main agricultural activities practised in the country.

Mining is also an economic activity in the county with fluorspar mining being carried out in the county. Tourism is also practised in the county with tourists visiting: The Kerio Valley National Reserve among other tourist destinations within the county.