Home / Embu County

Embu County

Embu County is located in the Eastern Region of Kenya. It borders with Kirinyaga, Kitui, Tharaka-Niithi, Murang’a and Machakos counties. Embu town serves as the capital of the county.


Embu County takes its name from the Aembu Ethnic Community. It is also called ‘Kirimari’ which means, top of the Hill in the Kiembu tribe. Before the adoption of the 2010 Kenyan Constitution, Embu served as the provincial headquarters for the former Eastern Province.

Population and Administration

Embu County has a population of around 608,599 people according to Kenya’s 2019 Housing and Population Census results. The County is divided into four sub-counties and 20 administrative wards.

The County Government of Embu is led by H.E. Governor Martin Nyaga Wambora who is the first and current governor of Embu county after winning both the 2013 and 2017 general elections.

Economic Practises

Agriculture is the main economic activity practised in the county. Some of the crops grown included: Tea, Coffee and Cotton as the main cash crops. Mangoes are also grown in the county.

Residents of the county also engage in businesses apart from their day to day employment.


Christianity is the main religion practised in Embu County. Muslim is also practised by a few of the population especially in the urban region of the County.

Education Institutions

Embu County is home to several notable educational institutions including Kangaru Girls and Kangaru Boys High School, Kyeni Girls High School and the Embu College.