Home / Kitui County

Kitui County

Kitui county is located in the Eastern region of Kenya and has its capital in Kitui town. The County borders with seven counties, namely: Tharaka-Niithi, Meru, Embu, Machakos, Makueni, Tana River and Taita Taveta.


Kitui is a Kamba word meaning, ‘A place where iron goods are made’. It was named by the Kamba ironsmiths who settled in the area during the pre-colonial period.

Population and Administration

Kitui County has a population of around 1,136,187 people according to the results of Kenya’s 2019 Housing and Population Census results. The County is divided into eight constituencies namely: Mwingi North, Mwingi East, Mwingi Central, Kitui West, Kitui Rural, Kitui Central, Mutito and Kitui South.

County Head

The County’s first governor was Hon. Julius Malombe. He, however, lost his seat to Her Excellency Governor, Charity Ngilu who is currently the County’s Governor.

Economic Practises

Agriculture and trade are the County’s main economic activities. Some of the crops grown in the county include: Cotton, Tobacco, Sisal, Mangoes, Maize, and beans Animal rearing is also practiced in the county with residents keeping livestock, cattle, sheep, and goats.


Tourism is another economic activity carried out in the county. Kitu has several tourist attractions including Mwingi National Reserve and the Tsavo East National Park.

Key Achievements

Kitui County is home to Kenya’s first Black Chief Justice, Kitili Mwendwa and former Chief Justice, Dr. Willy Mutunga. Kenya’s 10th Vice President, Hon Kalonzo Musyoka also hails from the County.