Home / Kwale County

Kwale County

Kwale County is located in the Coastal region of Kenya. It borders with the Republic of Tanzania to the South West. It also borders with: Taita Taveta, Kilifinand Mombasa Counties and the Indian Ocean. The County has its capital in Kwale Town.


The History of Kwale dates way back to the 14th century when the Washiraze people first settled there. Other communities settled there including the Wavumba, Wasegeju, and the Waduruma. Kwale, however, became significant when it replaced Shimoni as Vanga’s Capital It was later declared as property of the Sultan of Zanzibar but was however rented to the British Colonialists who dominated, protected and developed it.

Kwale became officially one pf Kenya’s 47 counties after the promulgation of Kenya’s 2010 constitution.

Population and Administration

Kwale County has a population of 866, 820 according to Kenya’s 2019 Housing and Population Census results. It is divided into four sub-counties namely: Msambweni, Lunga Lunga, Matunga & Kinango and twenty wards.

The County Government of Kwale is led by H. E. Governor Salim Mvurya who is currently serving his second and final term.

Economic Practises

Tourism is the main economic activity practised in the county as it has eye-catching sceneries and deep history. The County has world known Beaches.

The following are some tourist attractions worth to visit in the county: Diani Beach, Twiga Mosque, Raydon Water Sports, Lantana Galu Beach, Sky Dive Diani, Nyalani Dam, Shimba Hills and the Sheldrick Falls.


Muslim is the main religion practised in the County.