Home / Laikipia County

Laikipia County

Laikipia County is one of Kenya’s 47 Counties located in the Rift Valley Region of Kenya. It is one of Kenya’s smallest counties. It borders with Meru, Nyeri, Nyandarua, Samburu, Isiolo and Baringo Counties.


The name Laikipia is a Maasai word meaning ‘a Treeless Plain’ where different wild animals roam freely. The Big five animals are some of the animals in the County.

Population and Administration

Laikipia County has a population of around 513,879 people according to Kenya’s 201 Housing and Population Census results. The county is divided into three sub-counties, namely: Laikipia West, Laikipia East, and Laikipia South.

The County Government of Laikipia is led by H.E Governor Ndiritu Muriithi.

Economic Practices.

Agriculture and tourism are the main economic activities practiced in the county. Sone of the crops grown in the county includes: Maize, Carrots, wheat, and horticultural crops.

Tourist attraction sites in the site include the Pejeta Conservancy and Thompson Falls. The Equator Line also passes through Nanyuki which is in Laikipia County.

Laikipia also houses The Kenyan Airforce Army Base and a British Army Training Camp


Christian and Muslim religions are the main religions practiced in the county. The Christian Faith is, however, the largest faith practiced.