Home / Lamu County

Lamu County

Lamu county is one of the counties in the coastal region of Kenya with its headquarters in Lamu town which is a UNESCO World Heritage site.


Lamu is one of the oldest surviving Swahili towns in East Africa. It dates way back in the 12th century and is the only coastal settlement that has retained its original character.

Population and Administration

Lamu County has a population of around 143,920 people according to Kenya’s 2019 Housing and Population Census results. The County is divided into twenty administrative wards namely: Mkomani, Shella, Faza, Kiunga, Basuba, Hindi, Hongwe, Bahari, Mkunumbi and Witu.

The County is Led by H.E Governor Fahim Twaha.

Economic Practises

Tourism and fishing are the main economic activities practised in the county. Locals also engage in handiwork activities such as traditional wood carving and embroidery. Agriculture and carpentry are also practised in the county.

Some of the notable tourist attractions In the County include Lamu Museum, Lamu Fort, Swahili House, German Post Office and Yumbe Palace.


Muslim is the main religion practised in the county. Lamu has been considered an important religious centre for the Muslim and the Famous Maulidi celebrations to celebrate the Birth of Prophet Muhammad (PBUH) during the third year of the Muslim Calendar.