Home / Meru County

Meru County

Meru County is one of Kenya’s 47 counties located in the Eastern region of Kenya.


The name Meru originates from a Maasai word, ‘Mieru’ which means ‘Quiet forests’. They used the name to refer to communities that did not understand the Maa Language. They also used the name to refer to Tigania and Imenti forests.

Population and Administration

Meru County has a population of around 1,545,714 people according to Kenya’s 2019 Housing and Population Census results. The county is divided into nine constituencies, namely: Igembe South, Igembe Central, Igembe North, Tigania West,Tigania East, North Imenti, Buuri, Central Imenti and South Imenti.

The county is led by H.E. Governor Hon. Kiraitu Murungi who is the county’s second Governor after trouncing the current Cabinet Secretary Peter Munya, who was the county’s first governor, in the 2017 gubernatorial elections.

Economic Practises

Agriculture is the backbone of the county’s economy. Farmers engage in small scale farming of crops such as maize, sorghum, millet and beans. Mangoes and passion fruits are also grown in the county.

Meru County is universally known for the growth and production of Miraa (Khat) which is a lucrative cash crop for the locals which fetches millions of shillings  in returns to the farmers from export of the product.


Christianity is the main religion practised in the county. However there exists a population of the Muslim and Hindu religion believers especially in the urban region of the county.

Education Institutions

Some of the notable educational institutions in the county include: The Meru University College of Science and Technology and the Meru Teachers College.