Home / Nakuru County

Nakuru County

Flamingo’s at Lake Nakuru

Nakuru County, the fourth largest urban Area is located in the former Rift-Valley region. The name Nakuru comes from a Maasai word meaning, ‘a dusty place’. This is due to frequent whirlwinds that bring clouds of dust in the town.

Economic Practises

Tourism, Agriculture and manufacturing are the main economic activities practised in the area. The county has many famous tourist attractions. They include Lake Nakuru National Park, Hyrax Hill, Lake Naivasha, Menengai Crater (Mt.Longonot) and Hell’s Garden National Park,

Agriculture has been the aim backbone of the economy for Nakuru County. The County has conducive weather for dairy farming, horticulture and large scale forming. Among the crops grown are Wheat, maize, cabbages, peas, kales and carrots.  The county also practises horticulture farming and is home to big flower farms in the country including Karuturi, Preesma and Oserian flower farms. The flowers are mainly exported to Europe.

The County has also large manufacturing industries. Nakuru also boasts to be the home of various supermarkets in Kenya including Naivas and Tuskys.


Nakuru is a cosmopolitan area thus various religions are practised in the region. Christianity and Muslim are the main religions practised. Hinduism and the traditional religion is also practised in the County.

Population and Administration

Nakuru County has a population of   2,142,667 people according to the 2019 Kenyan Census. The county constitutes of eleven counties, Nakuru Town East, Nakuru Town West, Rongai, Bahati, Kuresoi North, Subukia, Gilgil, Kuresoi South, Naivasha, Molo and Njoro. Its first Governor was H.E. Hon Lee Kinyanjui who lost the 2017 gubernatorial elections to H.E. Hon Kinuthia Mbugua who is the current governor.

Education Institutions

Nakuru County houses various big national educational centres in the country. They include Moi Forces Academy,Moi High School Kabarak, Nakuru High School and Molo Academy. Tertiary Educational centres in the county include Kabarak University and Egerton University.