Home / Narok County

Narok County

Narok County is one of Kenya’s 47 counties and is located in the Rift-Valley region of Kenya. It borders with Bomet, Nakuru, Nyamira, Kisii Migori and Kajiado counties. Narok county also borders with Republic of Tanzania. The County has its headquarters in Narok Town.

Population and Administration

Narok County has a population of 1,149,379 people according to Kenya’s 2019 Housing and Population Census results.Narok is subdivided into six sub-counties, namely: Narok North, Narok West, Narok East, Narok South, Transmara East and Transmara West.

The County Government of Narok is led by H.E. Governor Samuel Kuntai Ole Tunai, E.G.H amd has Hon. Evelyn Aruasa as her deputy.

Economic Practices.

Agriculture is the main economic activity carried out in the county. Pastoralism and tourism are also practised in the county. Mining has also begun in the county.

Some of the crops grown in the county include: Wheat, Barley, Maize, Beans, Irish Potatoes and horticultural farming. Mining activities in the include thye Kilimapesa mining in the Lolgorian gold mines.

The internationally known Maasai Mara is situated with Narok County. The eight wonder of the world, The Great Wild Beast Migration, is a major tourist attraction at the Maasai Mara National Park in Narok County.


Narok County has several educational institutions including The Maasai Mara University.