Home / Nyandarua County

Nyandarua County

Nyandarua County is located in the Central region in Kenya with its capital in Ol Kalou town.


After independence, Nyandarua was formed by President Mzee Jomo Kenyatta in 1963 from Laikipia and Naivasha to settle Kenyans who had been displaced by the colonialists. It was occupied by people from the central region of Kenya mainly. Following the promulgation of the 2010 Kenyan Constitution, Nyandarua was named one of the 47 counties.

Population and Administration

The County has a population of around 638,239 people according to the 2019 Kenyan Housing a Population results. It is divided into five sub-counties and twenty-five wards. The sub-counties are as follows: Kipipiri, Kinangop, Ol Joro Orok, Ndaragwa and Ol Kalou.

Hon. Daniel Waithaka was elected the first governor of Nyandarua following the 2013 general elections which ushered in the devolved government. He however lost his seat to H.E. Governor Francis Kimemia who is the current governor.

Economic Practises

Tourism and agriculture are the main economic activities in the County. Potatoes are produced in a large scale in the county and is sold to its neighbouring regions and other parts of the country.

The Aberdare Range and forest are the main tourist destinations in the county for both local and domestic tourists.