Home / Samburu County

Samburu County

Samburu County is located in the Rift Valley region of Kenya. It has its capital in Maralal town. It is the tenth largest County in size in Kenya.


Samburu County was named from the Samburu ethnic community, who are the majority in the county.

Population and Administration

Samburu County has a population of around 310,327 people according to Kenya’s 2019 Housing and Population Census results. It is subdivided into three constituencies, namely: Samburu East, Samburu West, and Samburu North.

The County is led by H.E. Governor Moses Kasaine Lenolkulal.

Economic Practices

Pastoralism and Tourism are the main economic activities carried out in the county. Locals in the county engage in nomadic pastoralism

Samburu County has several tourist attractions. They include Lake Turkana, Buffalo Springs, and Shaba National Reserves. The county is also a key archaeological area.