Home / Tana River County

Tana River County

Tana River County is located in the coastal region of Kenya. It has its capital in Hola Town (Known as Galole). It borders with Kitui, Garissa, Isiolo, Lamu and Kilifi Counties.


Tana River County gets its name from Kenya’s longest river, The River Tana

Population and Administration

Tana River County borders with 315,943 people according to Kenya’s 2019 Housing and Population Census results. Tana River County has a total of three sub-counties namely: Bura, Galole, and Green.

The County Government of Tana River is Led by H.E Governor Dhadho Gaddae Godhana.

Economic Practises

Tana River County is a natural endowed with adequate natural resources. Residents of the county engage in agriculture and pastoralism. However, in recent years, the region has been affected by flooding and ethnic clashes.