Home / Tharaka-Nithi County

Tharaka-Nithi County

Tharaka Niithi county is located in the eastern region of Kenya. The county has its headquarters at Kathwana town. The County is based in the Semi-Arid area in the Eastern region.


Before being made a county, Tharaka-Niithi was formed by combining the former Meru South (also called Niithi) and Tharaka in 1992 to form the Tharaka-Niithi District. After the promulgation of the 2010 Kenyan new constitution, it became one of the 47 Kenyan counties.

Population and Administration

Tharaka-Niithi County has a population of around 393,177 people according to Kenya’s 2019 Housing and Population Census results. It is divided into three sub-counties namely: Maara, Chuka and Tharaka and fifteen administrative wards.

Its County government is led by H.E. Governor Muthomi Njuki who took over from Hon.Samuel Mbae Ragwa who was the county’s first governor.

Economic Practises

Agriculture is the main economic activity practised in the county. Farmers engage in small scale production of crops including:  millet, sorghum, cassava and maize. Tharaka Niithi also has a Community Power Generation Scheme located at the Kamanyaki Great Falls Dam which produces electricity for the region.