Home / Uasin Gishu County

Uasin Gishu County

Uasin Gishu County is one of Kenya’s 47 counties located in the Rift Valley region of Kenya. It has its capital at Eldoret town.


The name Uasin Gishu originates from a Maasi Clan, Illwuasin-Kishu. The land was previously a grazing land for the clan but they surrendered it to the colonial government and they moved towards Trans-Mara.

Population and Administration

Uasin Gishu has a population of around 1,163,186 people according to the results of the 2019 Kenyan Census population data. Eldoret Town is the County’s Headquarters.

Uasin Gishu is divided into six sub-counties, namely: Ainabkoi, Kapseret, Kesses, Moiben, Soy and Turbo. The County has a total of twenty-seven wards. H.E. Governor Jackson Mandago was elected as the first governor of Uasin Gishu County and is still serving as the county’s governor.

Uasin Gishu is also home to the first African Mayor Councillor A.N.Oloo who took office on September 2nd, 1963.

Economic Practises

Agriculture is the main economic activity practised in the County. The county is a large-scale producer of maize and wheat and contributes a lot in the country’s total harvest.

It is also a major Commercial Centre in the Western region of Kenya. Sports is also a key economic activity which has made many tourists visiting the county because it has produced historic sportsmen, especially in athletics in the world.

Uasin Gishu is also an industrial centre which boasts of having East Africa’s only manufacturer of small arms and ammunition located in Eldoret.


Christianity is the main religion in the county. The Muslim and Hindu religion are also practised in the county.                      

Education Institutions

The County has notable educational institutions including Moi University, Eldoret National Polytechnic and the University of Eldoret.