Home / West Pokot County

West Pokot County

West-Pokot County is located in the former Rift-Valley region of Kenya with its capital in Kapenguria town. It borders with Turkana, Baringo, Elgeyo-Marakwet and Trans-Nzoia  Counties. The County also borders with the Republic of Uganda to the West.


The county gets its name from the Pokot Community who are the main inhabitants of the county.

Population and Administration

The county is having a population of around 618, 867 people according to Kenya’s 2019 Housing and population census results. It is subdivided into five sub counties namely: Kipkomo, Pokot Central, Pokot North, Pokot South, and West Pokot.

The County is led by H.E. Governor Prof. John Krop Lonyang’apuo.

Economic Practices.

Agriculture and animal rearing are the main economic activities carried out in the county. Some of the crops grown include finger millet, coffee, beans, onions, pyrethrum, maize, and potatoes. Both cattle and dairy animals are kept in the county.